Everything you always wanted to know…

Should Women Shave Their Legs?

*sigh* I really can’t believe I’m writing this post. The above pic is of Monique, the comedian, from this past weekend when she attended the BET Hip Hop Awards in Atlanta. Now those are some hairy legs. In the past, I’ve just kept it moving when people complained about her legs. But it’s really beginning to irk me. Ladies, there is no excuse for you to get out of the house looking like godzilla is your grandfather.

Yes, I respect Monique’s right to let her legs look whichever way she fancies, but this right here is so not the business. These legs have even been the topic of conversation in her interview with the view a few years back. The topic had arisen because of the below flick taken at the Golden Globe Awards:

Back then, she told us that it was a “black woman” thing. That’s a damn lie. There is nothing black about the jungle that is her legs. And during her post Oscar interview with Barbara Walters, She insisted that her hubby loves the hair on her legs. As far as I know, there is no man who is turned on by a hairy woman. I’m actually blessed (or cursed depending on how you look at it) with a man who will notice if my armpit hair is looking slightly wild. With all the products on the market, she has no excuse to keep on with this travesty.

Personally, I don’t have a problem with hair on my legs, but if I did, I would laser or wax the hell out of those hairs. I imagine it’s sort of how we shave armpits. I usually feel so much more confident and free with smooth, hair-free underarms. A woman who doesn’t shave is like a man who only showers once a month. But that’s just me I guess… Ladies, what do you think? And fellas, what do you prefer?

She still has her man though... :-)

 

8 responses

  1. Hey, loving the blog…quite refreshing..Yes I do firmly believe women should shave their legs…women are supposed to be the fairer sex and hence soft, cuddly, smooth..you know all those nice words…so leaving your legs looking like a gorilla’s armpits is not advisable. However what is a human without choice, so if you feel you wanna rock the au naturale look with your legs…go right ahead!!

    October 8, 2010 at 10:51 am

  2. Hi Nyachomba! Great to hear that you love my blog :-) You’re most welcome. I can’t imagine rocking that much hair on my legs teeheehee

    October 8, 2010 at 11:16 am

  3. tedonyango

    The legs sure do not look too good but I suppose if she likes them that way then…not much we can do. I know if they were mine – I’d shave them

    October 9, 2010 at 10:46 pm

  4. Davy Namakwa

    Picture this, thirty to fifty years ago, do you actually believe that our mothers or grandmothers cared about shaving, or much better, do you think our fathers or grandfathers cared about the hair on these legs. It might be your preference that women shave their legs and its ok, but what I believe is that, our generation’s beauty standards have been defined by hollywood, and that we are ready to believe whatever hollywood decides to define as ”beautiful or cool,” and we then set our standards within these definitions. Women shaved or not shaved are beautiful in their own ways, and personally I prefer a woman’s inner beauty rather than the standards set for us by some American. I mean eventually its not about whether she is shaved or not, rather its about the beauty in the person.

    October 14, 2010 at 5:20 pm

  5. I feel a women should do what she feels she needs to do, as long as it is not pushed into her head. I do not shave, and will not shave. I love my hair. But, for women who like to shave because they feel sexier that way, love the look and feel of skin, then rock on.
    It is just not for me. My choice

    December 13, 2010 at 7:23 am

  6. Big Leg Lover

    I’m a pure 100% red-blooded heterol male and I absolutely love her thick hairy legs. Hairy legs have alway’s turned me on. Smooth legs are sexy too. It’s just something about the soles then those legs with hair on them that arouses me. I love Mo’nique’s legs. They are incredibly sexy and so are most + size women.

    April 7, 2011 at 5:44 am

  7. Lauren

    I know a man who prefers a woman to have body hair: he’s sitting right next to me, and is the only person who has any say in my choice not to shave because he is the only person who sees me without my clothes on. In my opinion, waxing is an unnecessary use of money and time, and shaving is a waste of water, and both are vaguely masochistic. Who says that women should endure razor burn and nicks, or yank the hair out of their skin? Harper’s Magazine in 1915, that’s who (do a little research and question some of those social dogmas, will ya?). I bathe every day, and am extremely annoyed at those who crow on about how unshaved women are dirty hippies. I have yet to see or hear a reason to shave my body hair (except armpit hair), other than vanity and what “other people” might think of me. So I applaud Mo’nique in her decision to leave those legs intact.

    March 17, 2012 at 9:03 pm

  8. Baby mama

    I am sure that if it bothered her and her husband, she would do something about it. I guess it doesn’t bother them, heck they might even like it.

    Our generatin is poisoned by what the western world portrays to us as being righ/worng.

    Take contact lense for example, why would you want your eyes to appear a colour they are are not??

    hairy legs or not, I love Monique, her man is FINE and I wish them a long happy relationship.

    January 23, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers