Everything you always wanted to know…

George Bush on Kanye’s 2005 Katrina Comment

Former US President, George Bush is out and about promoting his new book, Decision Points. In an interview with NBC which will be aired this coming Monday, Bush reveals his thoughts on Kanye West’s controversial comment. If you remember, back in 2005 after Hurricane Katrina, there was a celebrity telethon. Kanye West went on national TV and said that “George Bush doesn’t care about black people.” This was in response to the slow pace of getting aid to the people of New Orleans. I was so shocked when he said that but I remember most people felt he was speaking truth. Well, George Bush sees it a little different:

“He called me a racist,” Bush tells Lauer. “And I didn’t appreciate it then. I don’t appreciate it now. It’s one thing to say, ‘I don’t appreciate the way he’s handled his business.’ It’s another thing to say, ‘This man’s a racist.’ I resent it, it’s not true.”

Lauer quotes from Bush’s new book: “Five years later I can barely write those words without feeling disgust.” Lauer adds, “You go on: ‘I faced a lot of criticism as President. I didn’t like hearing people claim that I lied about Iraq’s weapons of mass destruction or cut taxes to benefit the rich. But the suggestion that I was racist because of the response to Katrina represented an all-time low.’

President Bush responds: “Yeah. I still feel that way as you read those words. I felt ‘em when I heard ‘em, felt ‘em when I wrote ‘em and I felt ‘em when I’m listening to ‘em.

Lauer: “You say you told Laura at the time it was the worst moment of your Presidency?”

Bush: “Yes. My record was strong I felt when it came to race relations and giving people a chance. And it was a disgusting moment.”

Lauer: “I wonder if some people are going to read that, now that you’ve written it, and they might give you some heat for that. And the reason is this — “

Bush [interrupting]: “Don’t care.”

Lauer: “Well, here’s the reason. You’re not saying that the worst moment in you’re Presidency was watching the misery in Louisiana. You’re saying it was when someone insulted you because of that.”

Bush: “No, and I also make it clear that the misery in Louisiana affected me deeply as well. There’s a lot of tough moments in the book. And it was a disgusting moment, pure and simple.”

I swear, Bush has no clue. So, Kanye was the worst moment of his presidency??? What about the war in Iraq? What about 9/11? What about Hurrican Katrina itself? So damn selfish. Anyhoo, Kanye seems to sympathize with him now:

Well, I definitely can understand the way he feels to be accused of being a racist in any way because the same thing happened to me. I got accused of being a racist and with both situations it was a lack of compassion that America saw in that situation.

With him it was a lack of compassion with taking the time to rush down to New Orleans. With me, it was a lack of compassion cutting someone off in their moment. But none the less I think we’re quick to pull the race card in America and now I’m more open and [it’s] poetic justice that I feel to have went through the same thing he went through and I really connect with him more on a humanitarian level because that next morning when he felt that, I felt that same thing too.

If you didn’t get it, Kanye is comparing it to his situation with Taylor Swift at the award show when he cut her off (Imma let you finish lol) Do you think Kanye was wrong about Bush and should we sympathize with the man?

One response

  1. Pingback: George Bush Katrina Photo | Pafos Photos

Leave a Reply

