Everything you always wanted to know…

Halle Berry Covers Ebony Magazine

Halle Berry is featured on the cover of the March 2011 issue of Ebony Magazine. This is right on time as Halle is smack in the middle of a custody dispute with her daughter Nahla’s  father, model Gabriel Aubry. They’ve been trading accusations back and forth for a couple of weeks now. Gabriel’s camp has accused Halle of being overly controlling and going into crazy bouts of anger. Halle’s camp has hit back with accusations of him calling her the “N” word. There have also been reports that he would go off the handle when his daughter was referred to as being “black”.

It really amazes me that one of the most beautiful women in the world finds it difficult to have a successful relationship. I used to think the men were mad to let a hottie like Halle go but now I’m not so sure. Could Halle be a difficult person to deal with? I wish I were a fly on the wall. In the interview, she opens up about her thoughts on her beauty, interracial relationships and considering her daughter to be black:

On Her Daughter’s Race
What I think is that that’s something she’s going to have to decide. I’m not going to put a label on it. I had to decide for myself and that’s what she’s going to have to decide-how she identifies herself in the world. And I think, largely, that will be based on how the world identifies her. That’s how I identified myself. But I feel like she’s Black. I’m Black and I’m her mother, and I believe in the one-drop theory.

I identify as a black woman, but I’ve always had to embrace my mother and the white side of who I am, too. By choosing, I’ve often [wondered], “Well, would that make her feel like I’m invalidating her by choosing to identify more with the Black side of myself?

Halle Berry On Dating Outside of her Race
Well, first thing I want to say is that I’m very connected to my community, and I want Black people to know that I haven’t abandoned them because I’ve had a child with a man outside of my race and I’m dating someone now outside my race who is Spanish and French. I have never been more clear about who I am as a Black woman[…] And who I really am is a Black woman who is struggling to make my race proud of me, who is struggling to move Black women forward in the profession I’ve chosen, and those relationships have actually helped me identify more clearly[….]The truth that it’s taken me a long time to learn how to love myself, and color isn’t really a part of what I look at when I’m deciding who I want to spend time with. I look for the soul, the person, the evolution, what he believes in, who [he is as a person] and how does it affect me in a positive way.

On if she feels like her beauty is a burden
No. I mean, beauty is subjective. [And] there are worse things people could say about me. I do wish people would notice other things about me.I wish people would talk more about my talent than they do my beauty. I’ve worked hard as an actress and I always try to push the envelope, grow and do something different. And I wish people would maybe notice that more than that which I have no control over, which is how I look.

3 responses

  1. Thanks so much for addressing this issue…Dang! I think Halle must have a truckload of issues..she has never been in a long term relationship that ended well..always Drama remember the Eric Benet Sex Addiction hehehehehe…Just goes to show you can view a woman as God’s gift to Man…but have issues from here to high heaven! LOL

    February 9, 2011 at 12:40 pm

  2. Pingback: Halle Berry Covers Ebony Magazine |

  3. Everyday Citizen

    Halle went all over the talk show circuit badmouthing her ex (Eric Benet) with her good friend Oprah stating surprise that one of the most “beautiful women in the world” could end up in a situation like that.

    I had pre-conceived ideas about him because of Halle’s anti-Eric propaganda. But witnessing him bringing his daughter to church with him quietly, Funny how much Halle had to say about him and how he quietly went on with his life being a father who took his daughter to Sunday worship services and it wasn’t for publicity there are a lot of celebs at my church so no thang there. He never asked for the reserved section (which a lot of celebs took to because it was for VIPS). He always just sat with the rest the congregation even in the most uncomfortable section when there were no other seats – the choir loft. He was obviously there for worship and to be with his daugther.

    Halle has every man she has been involved with pegged as an abuser, a sex addict and cheat, and now an endangerment to her child with a man she CHOSE to have a baby out of wedlock (on purpose). She is always the victim.

    She claims to be so concerned about her child’s welfare but she wasn’t that concerned as she refused to marry for the sake of her daughter – she flaunted shacking up with the guy like it was a “progressive” thing to do to have a “babby dady” situation. And if she was truly concerned about her daughter’s welfare she would not be trashing the child’s father in the press and Erik Benet’s daughter didn’t need to hear her father be trashed either. Deal with things in PRIVATE for the sake of the kids. Ivanka Trump had to deal with a very bad situation with her husband and when she was asked in an interview to speak on it she said he was still her children’s father and she refused to hurt her children. Look at Maria Shriver, she too had 101 reasons to trash her husband but she demurred. Sometimes women in bad situations rise above them. Other times women use their bad situations to gain FREE publicity and drag their partners through the mud to get what they want – regardless of who gets hurt.

    And while discussing collateral damage, it was Ms. Berry who was involved in a hit and run (wherein she left the scene and later claimed it was due to a head injury). No men were behind that wheel – just Halle and she did not stop to assist. It was years ago but the info can be found it was briefly covered in the press (and not covered nearly as much as all her accusations against the men in her life). But then Eric Benet didn’t call press conferences or hit the talk show circuit to talk about that so the topic died pretty quick. If it had been reverse you can bet Halle would have helped him – all they way to jail.

    March 12, 2012 at 2:18 am

Leave a Reply

