Everything you always wanted to know…

Lance Gross Is Single But Dating

I’m a huge Lance Gross fan so I love when he gives interviews that tell us a little more about Lance the man. He was recently voted Vibe Vixen’s #1 Finest Man Alive. Lance spoke to Vibe’s Starrene Rhett and discussed everything from what he looks for in a woman to what it was like being picked on in school. He also shares his  feelings on his failed engagement to model turned actress Eva Marcille. The only part I don’t get is how you can be single but dating… I mean, if we’re dating, even though it may not be serious yet, I expect some kind of exclusivity. Or am I just too demanding?

How does it feel to be ranked as VIBE Vixen’s number one finest man alive?

It’s definitely an honor. It caught me by surprise. I didn’t even expect to make the list so I appreciate whoever voted or however you guys came up with it. I’m honored.

You said you’re surprised to make the list but ladies are in love with you. Whenever we tweet about you the timeline goes nuts, so aren’t you used to having been considered the hot guy throughout your life?

No. I was actually picked on as a kid. I guess in high school it started to change for me. I guess being picked on made a lasting impression on me so I never⎯whenever somebody calls me handsome or anything like that I never take it for granted. I appreciate it every time I hear it so it’s never something that gets old.

Why did people pick on you?

Because I was dark-skinned, my last name, I always used to smile a lot…stuff like that. Really, the same things that they picked on me for are…I guess it kind of evolved into something that makes me popular.

What keeps you so humble?

My family and my friends. My parents always taught me never to take anything for granted because it can be taken away from you like that, especially when it comes to looks. I could get into a car crash tomorrow and disfigure my face. So I have to stay grounded.

Back to your Stans, what’s one of the craziest things a woman has done to profess her love for you?

[Laughs] I’ve had people deliver panties to my hotel room. They left it at the concierge with a phone number. I’ve had crazy things happen to me but that’s something that I remember.

I went on your twitter today and saw that you participated in the #dearfuturewife hashtag. You tweeted, “I’m gonna love you like no one has loved you before, I promise.” That stuck with me because it shows that you are obviously someone who holds marriage in high esteem, so why is marriage important to you?

I’ve had positive examples in my life from my uncles and aunts to my parents and just growing up, I’ve always wanted that. Like, having a relationship like my parents or similar to the Cosbys. That’s something that I’ve always wanted so I’ve been successful in getting the things that I’ve set out to get so why not have that with marriage.

There’s a lot of talk about how marriage is declining statistically and some people say it’s a generational thing. Do you see it as a problem and how do we get back to where we used to be?

Yeah. I definitely see a difference in generations and I’ve talked about it before because with my failed engagement I kind of lost hope for a minute. It took a while but I’m just really getting over that but it has something to do with the generation. We’re raised differently as far as…not by our parents but just the times that we’re growing up in. It’s all about flash and what you can do for me. It’s not about building together anymore. Usually if you ask a woman what she wants in a man the first thing is he’s gotta have a good job, he’s gotta have his own car, he has to be able to take care of me, it’s not about building together anymore. What if he was dead broke and you were dead broke but you guys built an empire together. It’s just different. We have different morals now.

They were such a cute couple

What are you looking for in a woman?

I just like a woman that could reinvent herself, like just have the confidence to try different things whether it be her style or…it’s weird, I feel like I have to be obsessed with the woman for it to work. I want to be obsessed with my girl because if it’s like that then we gonna be aight. And she’s gotta be intelligent, be able to hold a good conversation…not just what did you do today…I want to talk about politics, I want to talk about what’s going on in the world.

Are you dating right now, single?

I’m single but dating.

What is your ideal first date?

A lot of laughter. It’s a first date so there’s a lot of nervous tension and you don’t know what to expect from a person but if you guys can just laugh together and just have a good time it doesn’t matter what we do. We can go bowling or we can go to the opera or something, just as long as you can have fun with that person and if you can be thinking about your second and third date on the first date then it’s good.

Source

I get what he’s saying about relationships not being about building together anymore. Women these days want a man with a great job, great car, huge house, massive bank account… Wouldn’t it mean more if both of you worked towards getting that stuff together? #foodforthought

P.S. Sending your panties to a dude??? Like really??? It’s never that serious…

9 responses

  1. Eye candy….damn!

    Hope hubby doesnt see this comment. LOL!

    February 15, 2011 at 3:51 pm

  2. HA HA HA I’ll keep your secret 🙂

    February 16, 2011 at 9:15 am

  3. Love your blog.

    June 8, 2011 at 8:25 am

  4. Ginnean

    I second the whole ideal of marriage being about building another up. My ideal future husband 🙂

    August 28, 2011 at 11:10 pm

  5. yes lawd! Lance Gross is soooooo my kind of man! Can we talk about any and everything, be best friends, grow together and build and build endlessly? Or how about talk to elders and older couples together who have surpassed serious times where they didn’t even know if the husband would be taken away… God bless Lance! Gives me hope that there’s still some really good brothas out here! Wow.. I think I’m in Love!!…lol

    September 13, 2011 at 9:46 pm

  6. Ruby

    I love this article I wish there were more men like Actor Lance Gross I share his values. I wish he was in SC

    March 26, 2012 at 2:28 pm

  7. MOE

    I LOVE U TOO LANCE BABY I LOVE WHAT U SAID IN THE ARTICLE BABY I WILL GIVE U WHAT UR LOOKING FOR CALL ME ANYTIME

    April 29, 2012 at 1:00 am

  8. debra

    i am 56 yrs old, and lance u are a fine looking man and so whatever u do take your time sweetie.

    May 1, 2012 at 12:29 am

    • debra

      take god first in your life.

      May 1, 2012 at 12:30 am

Leave a Reply

