Everything you always wanted to know…

Rihanna Covers Vogue April 2011

Rihanna is featured on the cover of the April 2011 issue of Vogue. Shot by Annie Leibovitz, Rihanna looks unsurprisingly gorgeous. The only issue I have with her is the red hair. It just refuses to grow on me. I think it makes her look a bit cartoonish. I hated Angeline Jolie’s December cover but loved the shoot itself. In Rihanna’s case, I love the cover but feel Leibovitz could have done more with the shoot itself because, let’s face it, Rihanna is a very photogenic girl. They could have pushed the envelope a bit more.

In the issue, she talks about how fame has shaped her for better or worse. The surprising part is that she really tears into her dad:

“It really makes me question what I have become to my father. Like, what do I even mean to him?” “It’s really strange. That’s the only word I can think of to describe it, because you grow up with your father, you know him, you are part of him for goodness’ sakes! And then he does something so bizarre that I can’t begin to wrap my mind around it. You hear these horror stories about people going behind people’s backs and doing strange things, but you always think, Not my family. My father would never do that to me.”

Rihanna says she first saw that side of her dad after the domestic violence incident with Chris Brown:

“That was the first time,” she says. “My dad went to the press and just told them a bunch of lies. Because he hadn’t talked to me after… that whole thing … He never called to find out how I was doing, if I was alive, nothing. He just never called. He went straight to the press and got a check. And now he does it again. Now I’m like, Whatever. I tried.”

On the famous Chris Brown incident:

“It actually gave me a lot of liberation,” she says. “What I mean is, I was able to tap into the personal part of my music. I started to tell stories through my music that were actually my stories. My album before that, there was still a little bit of protection, there was still an innocence to me. And what that time in my life did was kind of wake people up: It’s not all a bed of roses. My life is like yours. It made me look at the world in a much bigger way because my life was suddenly superduper magnified; all eyes were on me. I needed that in my life to know how to say, ‘Fu*k off.’ To know how to keep my head high even in the worst of situations. I keep using the word unapologetic. But there’s a freedom that has come with all of that. Where you feel like you don’t have to make an excuse for being yourself.”

On her break up with Matt Kemp:

“I just kind of shut down from that,” she says. “I just let it go. I don’t ever want to have to depend on a relationship. I think it’s a really special thing to find love. It’s beautiful. Nothing can match it. But I want to make sure that I can find other things in life that I love besides … love.”

On her song S&M and reaction to the video:

“The song can be taken very literally, but it’s actually a very metaphorical song. It’s about the love-hate relationship with the media and how sometimes the pain is pleasureable. We feed off it, you know – or I do. And it was a very personal message that I was trying to get across. I wanted the video to say that but still play off of the them of S&M. And I mean, wow, people went crazy. They just saw sex. And when I see that video, I don’t see that at all. I wanted it to be cheeky. There’s no other way to take it.”

On finding her freedom:

The minute I discovered that freedom and started toying with it, I loved it so much that it felt real for the first time. When something feels real, you don’t make any apologies for it. when it feels good to you, nothing else matters. Everything else is just noise.

Leave a Reply

