Everything you always wanted to know…

Father’s Day Poem by Tyrese

Tyrese is on his grown man vibe in preparation for Father’s Day. He wrote a poem which he published on his blog, in honor of great fathers. I’m loving the positivity and I love the above collage of him and his daughter Shayla. I find it really amazing when divorced parents can put aside their differences for the good of the children.

On this day, we as fathers are celebrated around the world…
I am more than just a man.. I am a father.
A boy is excited about the opportunity to be a dad.  
A father is more focused on the “Responsibility” of being a father.
 
As a father it is a responsibility to create the standards in our kids’ lives,  I am not just semen. I love you, and you love me and in our family we created “we” in our children… 
 
I am power, I am intelligence, I am education, I am integrity, I am God fearing spirituality,  I am consistent… 
As a father, sometimes I have to be away. I am constantly in the field hunting for my family’s survival. 
I am king therefore you are my queen. President Obama has created a new standard and removed every excuse a black man could ever have of NOT being a father…  
I am more than I appear to be, I am more than just a man. 
I….AM….FATHER!!
Fathers… Even though it seems like your effort is sometimes overlooked, God is watching and he knows your heart. 
 
To all of the REAL FATHERS around the world..
Through good, bad or ugly relationships with the mother…
If you are NOT there for your kids, it is ONLY the kids that suffer in the end.
Take a stand and do any means necessary to be a part of your kids lives.
God knows your heart… God bless all FATHERS around the WORLD for Father’s Day! 
Salute!! 
2 responses

  1. “A boy is excited about the opportunity to be a dad.
    A father is more focused on the “Responsibility” of being a father.”

    So true! …unfortunately, it is a sad reality that some children are not suffering when their fathers aren’t “there for them”. From my own personal experience I cringe when I see “take a stand and do any means necessary to be a part of your kids lives” because I know what that can incite in an opportunist ‘father’ …and I know what that means for a child, carefully protected from harm.

    …but that’s just my opinion. If the world were a different place, I’d agree with you…

    June 16, 2011 at 12:54 pm

  2. Keith V. Harris

    Awesome Words From you
    Add this to your insight. As a 61 year old Man out of the greatest Island “Jamaica”
    4 sons
    Police Inspector
    Sgt Major – Army
    School Teacher
    A Nurse

    F.A.T.H.E.R.S.
    “F” aithful.
    “A” lways there.
    “T” rustworthy.
    “H” onoring.
    “E” ver-loving.
    “R” ighteous.
    “S” upportive.

    KVHarris

    June 17, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Leave a Reply

