Everything you always wanted to know…

Drake Covers GQ’s First Ever Style Bible

For everything a man needs to know to look his best in 2012, please grab a copy of GQ’s first ever Style Bible. The April 2012 issue features multiple cover stars: Drake, John Slattery and Dave Franco. Of course you know where my interest lies. Drake gets suited up, lined up and exfoliated in the Spring photo shoot.

The interview concept is really interesting. He practiced his perfect first date on Claire Hoffman, the female reporter who wrote his cover story. Check out how she describes Drake’s mansion:

The backyard of Drake’s mansion is indistinguishable from the set of one of those late-night Lifetime soft-core romance flicks. Waterfalls gush all around, surging over enormous boulders. Bronze animals—lions, elephants, giraffes!—checker the lawn, glimmering in the last light of the San Fernando Valley sun. A giant fire, fit for a king from Middle-earth, burns in an outdoor fireplace, and a flat-screen TV plays Sixteen Candles.

First, there was dinner by the pool while Sixteen Candles played on a flat screen. Next, he poured up some white wine spritzers before giving her a tour of the crazy pool at his Hollywood mansion. Then, she asked to see his closet. And when he showed her to his security-coded bedroom hidden behind a bookshelf with a California King Bed inside with custom sheets and a projector screen floating above, he asked the hypothetical question, “We had wine and dinner by the pool, I brought you inside, I brought the projector down; are you or are you not sleeping with me?” I know many of you ladies would be screaming “YES!!!” at the top of your voices, never mind that it’s supposed to be a first date…

In the interview, he gave some insight into where he is on his relationships with women, why it was easier to write songs when he didn’t have much going on and why promiscuity doesn’t quite work for him any more:

On finding influences for his songwriting…
“I’m trying to find the same feelings that I had for women when I had very little going on, which is tough. When I was in my mom’s house, I had nowhere to go, no real obligations. My girlfriend at the time, if she was mad at me, my day was all f-cked-up. I didn’t have anything else. And that made for some of the best music, I think, to date. Records where I felt small. …It’s really difficult for me to find something that makes me feel small.”

On past promiscuity…
“There’s just a time where it was like, just getting p-ssy. Where I was in that sort of ‘I’m young, I’m going to disconnect from my emotions and just do what everyone else tells me I should do and just a be a rapper and have my fun.’ And for me as a person, it just doesn’t work. The seconds after a man reaches climax, that’s the realest moment of your life. If I don’t want you next to me in that fifteen, twenty seconds, then there’s something wrong.”

On the new generation of rappers…
“Rap now is just being young and fly and having your sh-t together. The mood of rap has changed.”

On his bad boy persona…
“I’m mischievous, but I’m calculated.”

Read more over at GQ

Leave a Reply

