Everything you always wanted to know…

Solange Knowles for Harpers Bazaar

hbz-april-2014-solange-knowles-5-xl-sm

Solange Knowles has struggled to emerge from the shadow of her sister Beyonce’s success with her unique musical sound and sense of style. Her new colourful photo shoot for Harpers Bazaar, shot by Julia Noni, reflects her amazing sense of non-conventional style. In the interview with the mag, she talks about getting into the music business, working on her new album, and gives insight into her personal life and relationships.

On working on her new album: “I figure there’s no better way to buckle down and finish it than to be as far away from everyone as possible, cell phone and computer behind. I’m not very good at writing songs when I have a lot of clutter in my mind.”

On her parents’ thoughts on her getting into the music business: “My parents constantly tried to talk me out of being an artist,” she says. “They had gone through the whole journey with my sister and just wanted me to have a normal teenage life.”

On her early marriage and divorce: “In a lot of ways, emotionally and mentally, I feel far older than 27. Just going through a marriage and a divorce—which I essentially did by 21—will give you an insane amount of perspective on life.”

On her style transformation: “You can pull images of me from seven to 14 years ago and I was absolutely nuts. I have always been drawn to interesting pieces and colors, but I didn’t quite know how to limit myself and make those statement pieces work.” That epiphany took one simple thing: having a closet of her own, which she got when Julez started school in L.A. “I had to stabilize our lives and stay in one place,” she says. “It sounds silly, I know, but having space for my clothes made a huge difference. I was able to get organized, free myself of clutter, and develop a style that felt like me.”

On her recent move to New Orleans:  “I’ve thought about moving to New Orleans for years but just never had the courage to do it. Now my son is at that age where he’s really establishing friends and a community, so I feel like this is a good time to try it out.”

On her relationship with her ex-husband:“We co-parent really well. I’m able to say, ‘I need to finish this album, can you step up and take care of the boy?’ “

On her current relationship with video director Alan Ferguson:“Luckily, I dated all of the losers ages ago. My love life has been stable for a while. It’s a fucked-up thing—without conflict it’s a lot harder to write interesting songs.”

You can read the entire interview here.

hbz-april-2014-solange-knowles-2-xl-xl

hbz-april-2014-solange-knowles-3-xl-sm

hbz-april-2014-solange-knowles-4-xl-sm

hbz-april-2014-solange-knowles-xl-sm

Leave a Reply

