Everything you always wanted to know…

Iman for Scene Magazine

Screen-shot-2014-03-04-at-2_18_12-PM

58 year old supermodel and supermogul Iman is featured in the current issue of SCENE magazine. Photographed by Douglas Friedman, Iman proves that she’s still got it! When I grow up, I want to be her. In the interview, she talks about modeling and her expanding business empire.

On how she became a pro at modeling: “Through the years, I’ve learned what works for me. Most importantly, I can see in my head the final shot, so the objective is to create something original and modern, to serve the photographer’s vision. I learned on the job. I paid attention to details. I looked at old photographs. And I made sure that I had control over my image. I’ve always believed that images are a model’s currency. So I always wanted to have some control and have a say about my images. What I know is that photography and the business of images is a mirror in which we see ourselves—who we are and who we can be. Beauty is a powerful commodity, and its currency is identity.”

On her IMAN Home Bed & Bath Collection: “You can really see the journey from my background in fashion as I approached this collection as if it were a wardrobe for rooms. I believe that layering doesn’t only apply to fashion and jewelry; I played with patterns by layering ikat with medallions, stripes with animal prints to create rooms with an interesting mix of textures, patterns and visuals.”

Screen-shot-2014-03-04-at-2_18_30-PM

Screen-shot-2014-03-04-at-2_17_50-PM

Screen-shot-2014-03-04-at-2_17_07-PM

One response

  1. Pingback: Naomi Campbell Covers April Issue of Shape Magazine | AMARIE ADHIS

Leave a Reply

