Everything you always wanted to know…

Taraji Henson Covers April Issue of Upscale Magazine

Taraji_Upscale

43 year old actress, Taraji P. Henson, is looking absolutely amazing on the cover of Upscale Magazine this month. And look at those eyebrows! Fierce!!! For the shoot Taraji wore a Nicolas Jesbran jeweled romper. I’m loving it!

In this issue, the sexy mom of a 19-year-old son talks about what happened after her Oscar nomination, her real friends and being a black actress in Hollywood:

On what happened after her Oscar nomination and Tyler Perry: “People were like, ‘you just get nominated for an Oscar and the first movie you do is a Tyler Perry film?’ Well, it’s not like Scorsese called me! Tyler was the only call i got the day after the Oscars. And he gave me a quote. Up until then, I had no quote. I was getting paid pennies to do movies. Tyler treated me like a queen.”

On the realities of being a black actresses: “It’s always a battle for black women; we’re totally at the bottom of the totem pole. Look at the white girls. How many times have you seen Amy Adams in a period piece with a great actor like Meryl Streep or Christian Bale? And look at Jennifer Lawrence! Hits out the wazoo! How come we’re not nominated every year? Because the scripts and the roles aren’t there. It’s not rocket science.”

On love and dating: “Here’s the deal. I’m no spring chicken. I’m not in my 20s dating around. I’m looking for happily ever after. So, once you get clear on what it is you’re looking for, the pickings are slim, honey. I’ve left the whole continent of North America. i’m looking abroad.”

Taraji

She also recently chatted with Madame Noire about starring in Lee Daniels’ Fox pilot Empire:

Tell us about your new project Empire and your character, Cookie Lyon?
“Empire is like the Sopranos meets Dynasty, plus hip-hop. The empire is a record label and Lucious (Terrence Howard), who plays my husband, is about to take the company public so they stand to make a lot of money. My character and Lucious both sold drugs when they were really young and silly to start the record label so my character goes away, does 17 hard years, comes home and now that the company is about to make so much money, the crabs come out the barrel. What I love about it is we deal with a lot of heavy subject matters. It’s a Lee Daniels project and he’s not afraid to push the envelope so we deal with the taboo of being gay in the African American community because one of my sons is gay.”

How do you think audiences will react to the exploration of homosexuality in the Black community?
“I think audiences will enjoy it. Art is supposed to ruffle your feathers and make you think. It’s not supposed to be safe. It’s supposed to show you life’s ugly truths and that’s the only way you make a change. If nobody knows you can’t make a change. We didn’t really understand Boyz n the Hood until John (Singleton) made a movie about it. I never understood what gangs were until I saw colors. So you can’t change anything you don’t know about. I don’t judge any of it. I don’t judge any of my characters. I look at is as God gave me a talent to share with the world and I think art saves lives.”

Empire sounds like a hit. Can’t wait! Plus I love me some Terrence Howard…

Leave a Reply

